A Star Is Born Reviews

Page 1 of 120
December 18, 2018
I loved it so much!! The acting was completely perfect! The music was so deep and emotional. Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooperâ(TM)s singing was exceptional! This now one of my favorite movies of all time!
December 18, 2018
Over-hyped remake of a classic. They should retire movies like they retire sports jersey numbers. A Star Is Born didnt need to be remade in an era when stars arent discovered because of superior talent. Stars are manufactured based on number of social media followers, irrespective of talent. This is a fan movie for fans of Cooper and Gaga. Ultimately self-indulgent tripe.
December 18, 2018
While originally pegged as Oscar-bait, A Star is Born offers a fresh and moving take on this (fourth?) remake. Strong performances and execution from the leads, not to mention a catchy soundtrack that you will be streaming on Spotify as the credits roll.
½ December 18, 2018
Well done forced drama, a typical story to make a movie with the spotlight on a known artist
December 17, 2018
Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper were absolutely amazing in this movie! Though I enjoyed the 1937 Gaynor/March and 1976 Streisand/Kristofferson versions of this story (I've haven't watched the Judy Garland version yet), I think the pacing of this movie is much better. The story doesn't drag on like the others. The chemistry between Gaga and Cooper is lovely to watch and I really enjoyed the updates in the story. The music in this movie is beautiful and so full of emotion that I got chills at least twice. I Loved watching every single second of this film!
½ December 17, 2018
I hate this trashy ass film that everyone thinks it's so "good" and decides to give it a nominee at the Golden Globes, Halloween (2018), Venom (2018), and Spider-Man Into the Spider Verse was better than this garbage
December 16, 2018
If you have not seen it, GO SEE IT!
½ December 16, 2018
So disappointed. Tired uninspired forth make. LG and guy star are talented but this movie doesn't really make the shine. The cinematography is dingy and depressing. It was wearing me down. i kept looking at my watch waiting for it to end. But others i spoke to liked it better than i did. I guess I wasn't in the mood.
December 16, 2018
Gaga pulled it off acting wise. And actually she looks a lot better withiut all her getups and hats!
December 15, 2018
Amazing movie that deserves all the awards!
December 15, 2018
Love Lady Gaga but this was over-hyped & Bradley Cooper is too heavy handed in directing & acting..
December 15, 2018
it was okay, i think the critics are overblowing this movie,my opinion
December 15, 2018
In "A Star Is Born," Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga fuse their considerable talents to depict the raw and passionate tale of Jack and Ally, two artistic souls coming together, on stage and in life. Theirs is a complex journey through the beauty and the heartbreak of a relationship struggling to survive. In this new take on the iconic love story, four-time Oscar nominee Cooper ("American Sniper," "American Hustle," "Silver Linings Playbook"), makes his directorial debut, and also stars alongside multiple award-winning, Oscar-nominated music superstar Gaga in her first leading role in a major motion picture. Cooper portrays seasoned musician Jackson Maine, who discovers and falls in love with struggling artist Ally. She has given up on her dream to become a successful singer, until she meets Jack, who immediately sees her natural talent. ??
December 15, 2018
Excellent movie! The end was heartbreaking!
½ December 15, 2018
One of the overrated overhyped movie of this season; a movie that's been remade the fourth time. While Cooper's singing is a huge surprise, I don't think Lady Gaga's performance is Oscar worthy. And please don't even talk about Best Screenplay nomination for Oscar; it's an old story.
½ December 14, 2018
From the moment I saw the trailer for this,
I knew there was something special about A Star Is Born.

Bradley Cooper's directorial debut is nothing short of movie magic, as it is a perfect mixture of the old "boy meets girl" type of love story, intertwined with a tragic backstory of mental illness and addiction.
Together, it creates a hypnotic two hours of film, that I can easily say is one of the best movies of the year.

The most undeniable piece of this puzzle that makes it perfect, is the chemistry between Cooper and Gaga. Although two very different people at stages in their lives, there is an instant electricity between the two of them , and when we get scenes with the two of them just getting to know one another or having a banter, you feel something as you watch it. Funny, as I was leaving the theatre a lot of people walking out were commenting on the fact they wish the two of them were dating in real life.

Cooper's Jackson Maine is easily the most personal and raw performance of his career. As he slips further and further into the disease of addiction, with his career and professional life starting to come into question, it's Gaga's Ally that steals the show. Frankly, I was stunned at how much of a knock out she is acting wise. Clearly a woman who lacks self confidence due to the people she has surrounded herself with, I felt Gaga channelling a lot of her own personal battles, as heard in interviews years prior, and I think that allows her to put a rock solid performance here.

When all is said and done, this movie will go down as one of the years best. The performances of Cooper and Gaga both deserve Oscar nominations, as well as for best song, best director and best picture.

You will laugh a lot, and you will cry a lot too so prepare yourself.
A Star Is Born deserves to be seen multiple times.

Grade : A
December 14, 2018
A Star is Born is not only just brilliant and touching to watch it succeeds by mixing the drama of the story and the love shared on screen between Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga this film might award Cooper an Oscar it is one of the best films of 2018 without a doubt.
December 14, 2018
Sorry, this was nothing more than Cooper's lifetime dream coming true. He gets to be a rock star and direct a movie. The music was the only good thing about it. Total ego trip..
December 14, 2018
Affectionate and heartbreaking, Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga give great performances on and off stage in one of the better remakes I've seen in a while and shows that Cooper is not only a very talented actor but he also has a very bright future in film directing.
December 14, 2018
Good film and remake, but overrated.
Page 1 of 120