Bumblebee Reviews

Page 1 of 11
January 18, 2019
At last: a "Transformers" movie with the humor and heart of the source material.
January 18, 2019
"A simple, joyful, popcorn movie".
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 17, 2019
Bumblebee is a nostalgic bundle of fun, poignant and nostalgic joy with all the 80's tropes that one could want. Not only is it a good Transformers movie, it is a good movie that stand on its own bee's knees.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 16, 2019
All of the Transformers films before this one have been steaming piles of poo. So the fact that this one is watchable means, by default, that it's the best Transformers film ever.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 10, 2019
A significant course correction for the series but only a modest success.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 10, 2019
A blockbuster about robots that feels anything but robotic, and not really like a blockbuster. The central relationship is as solid as B:127; I did cry, and not because they only played one Duran Duran song. (It was the best Duran Duran song.)
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 9, 2019
... works best when the story sticks to the buddy-film trappings... makes you wish this is where they had actually started instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 7, 2019
Compared to the previous 'Transformers' movies, Bumblebee is a breath of fresh air, emotional and surprisingly honest. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 7, 2019
Bumblebee is a prequel we didn't really want, but man, I'm glad we got it.
January 7, 2019
Bumblebee gets its best moments when it sticks with the characters and their conflicts. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 7, 2019
Bumblebee is pretty good folks, making it one of 2018's biggest surprises of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 4, 2019
Hailee Steinfeld is a natural in front of the camera and brings out all the nuances required for the role like a pro.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 3, 2019
For a series that was on the verge of being dismantled and sold for scraps, much like Bumblebee, it has found a saviour. Travis Knight has lived up to his name. The Transformers can wear his shiny armour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 3, 2019
In what feels like a reboot Knight takes the character of Bumblebee and crafts an immensely satisfying, heartfelt film that the entire family will enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 3, 2019
Bumblebee does set the Transformers franchise on a promising new path, one that inevitable future instalments - multiple prequels and spin-offs are in development - could do well to learn from.
January 3, 2019
To the surprise of no one, the removal of Michael Bay from the creative driver's seat of the franchise results in a sharp rise in visual coherence and a sharp dip in toxic masculinity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 2, 2019
The first three minutes of Bumblebee are already better than all the Transformers films directed by Michael Bay. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 2, 2019
I appreciated the scale back so now we could see the action and take it in but it was it was still kind of soft.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 2, 2019
Bumblebee is certainly the best example of what this franchise is meant to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 2, 2019
Bumblebee is the sort of Transformers movie I want to watch. It surprised me in a decidedly non-automated way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 11