Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 111
½ January 19, 2019
I'm an old Harry Potter-fan, i've read the books numerous times and have been absolutely in love with the universe for many, many years- but these films ruined so much for me. It's a hollow story, bad acting and really not authentic at all. It's awkward to watch from the beginning to end. There was some cool visual effects, but that's it - that's the most positive i can say about these movies.
January 19, 2019
I was highly anticipating The Crimes of Grindelwald. Growing up, I was obsessed with the Harry Potter series, and was pretty disappointed when I finished both the movies and the books. The excitement returned with Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and I thoroughly enjoyed the first movie of this series. However, I was slightly disappointed with The Crimes of Grindelwald. The movie seemed to only serve the purpose of setting up the next movie, which is obviously going to be a major fight between Newt Scamander and Grindelwald. Dumbledore served little to no use in this movie, just exposing the viewers to his sexuality. The ending of this movie was the only part the really intrigued me, as it really caught me off guard. I hope the next movie will be significantly better than this one.
January 19, 2019
This is what happens when you forget how beloved the canon is and try to add things that no one wanted or asked for. There are so many inconsistencies in this that don't coincide with the easily googleable canon. Johnny Depp was the wrong choice for Grindelwald for a million reasons, they barely discuss the fact that Dumbledore and Grindelwald were in a relationship and McGonagall WASN'T EVEN BORN YET HOW THE HELL IS SHE A TEACHER AT HOGWARTS? Eddie Redmund was the only thing that shined in this movie but his search for fantastical beasts took a backseat to a cash grab, non-canon history lesson. I'll stick with the OG novels and fanfiction, thanks. This just feels like Warner Bros trying to bleed the HP franchise dry. Stop it. The fans don't want it.
January 18, 2019
A bit messy, certain scenes made the viewer feel awkward. Despite this, the movie was immersing and interesting. A must needed watch if you're going to continue watching the franchise.
½ January 17, 2019
I found it very hard to follow or stay awake while watching this movie. I think I'll have a better chance enjoying the story if I read the book.
½ January 17, 2019
This was like having an appetizer while the chef tells you how awesome the main course will be, only to be told you have to wait months to finish the rest of the meal and sent home unsatisfied.
½ January 17, 2019
I liked it because of the magical atmosphere and that it sin the world of Harry Potter. Didn't like how some of the characters weren't fully developed and the plot seemed random.
½ January 16, 2019
I really can't believe what they did here. They screwed us. They took our interest and never did anything with it, and for that, it is my personal worst movie of 2018. Not for its quality, but for how they LIED.
January 16, 2019
i will never watch or read another thing written or adapted to any made by J.K. Rowling because she called america fascist and had choice words about our president...its a shame because i love her work but im not going to support a beta soy socialist cuck like her...ill just wait till its free at the library to watch but she not getting any money out of me or every again
½ January 16, 2019
The plot is rather convoluted and the script doesn't exactly support it as well as it should. The CGI is great in some places and terrible in others. Though, if you just want to see some magic, some animals and not worry, then it's okay.
January 16, 2019
was very good, just didnt care for a couple of scenes did sit with me to well on choices of charaters haha, but the film was good cannot wait for the next movies
January 15, 2019
So not your time, unless your live and die HP. Poor story telling, so-s- acting.
½ January 15, 2019
Great story building, and an amazing spectacle on screen, probably my favorite Harry Potter movie of all time! This made me a huge Fantastic Beasts fan then a true Harry Potter fan, as this is all-new and interesting and not like the boring Half-Blood Prince...

9/10 - Excellent
January 14, 2019
Many people are complaining about there being very little plot although that is mostly true it is still very entertaining to any fan of the Harry Potter series. To revisit Hogwarts, to see young Dumbledore, and Though I was quite sceptical of Jonny Depp as Griduwald at first he did abousolutly amazing. Every scene with Depp has me on the edge of my seat. The plot is based around Credence finding who he is would not be entertaining for someone who is a new comer to the series is very exciting for a long time fan like myself, and the final reveal at the end is great. There are many timeline problems which is a little frustrating until I realized that this Is Rowlings world. Who are we to question the time line invented by herself. If there is one thing I have learned from her it's to trust that she knows what she is doing. The end scene is one of the best action senses of any Harry Potter film and the ending leaves you wanting so much more. Overall this was a nessisary set up for the upcoming films and it is a great watch for any Potter head, but for someone unfamiliar to the franchise will be bored and confused and for that reason I give it four stars.
½ January 14, 2019
The Crimes of Grindelwald continues to prove the strength of this brand but in similar fashion to the worlds created in the Hobbit and Star Wars movies we are sometimes dumbfounded by a massive cast of characters all with their own story. The strength lies with our main cast who do a great job, Depp stands out amongst them, but his opening and closing scenes give the villain the respect he deserves. David Yates opens the world up visually, Newton Howard continues with a enchanting soundtrack while JK continues to give the story the gravitas it deserves with a strong unfolding mystery element. Where this falters is when story is simply told to the viewer and characters involvement leave you wondering why they are even there in the first place...
January 14, 2019
The spectacular animals, settings, and costumes and Johnny Depp's excellent performance can't save this one from the unlikeable characters and the boring, convoluted plot. Too many bland characters locked in forgettable relationships weigh the film down. Newt is too much of a Beta even to care about. Don't waste your money and watch with boxxy software app.
January 13, 2019
Really enjoyed the film, but got the feeling it was setting the scene for the next film, rather being a stand alone film with it's own storyline.
January 13, 2019
I loved this but i am a massive fan of fantastic beasts ans where to find them.
The graphics are beautiful and i believe the story line is very well written.
I feel a must see.
January 13, 2019
Unlike the singularity in installments of a book series, the "Fantastic Beasts" series expanded the in-canon textbook for the exclusive storytelling being told through the cinematic platform after experiencing both literature and after a theatrical stage play. Furthermore, the singular expansive "book" that is being divided into five films is still in progress with the writing still in development and the reading following the available pacing. With prior acknowledgement of understanding after the expositional chapter the starter film begun as with its own footing, "The Crimes of Grindelwald" casted an exhilarating spell in really pushing the story forward but the cinematic lens exposes the setbacks.

At the second-fifth of the in-progress book, the powerful dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald escaped custody and grows his cause further with gathering followers in raising pure-blood wizards to rule over all non-magical beings. Since he had a troublesome hand in help capturing Grindelwald in the previous chapter, Newt Scamander is tasked to look out for the potential dark lord by Hogwarts' Professor Albus Dumbledore while dealing with the resurfaced past.

When thinking about it afterwards, the positional flow still maintain the aforementioned expected pacing despite few distractive and suddenly-developed plot points. Comparing this particular storyline to the previous chapter not only pushes the story further but is mostly a filler while increasing the characterization for pivotal reasons in the coming chapters. Newt Scamander carries the protagonist's torch as the main focus of the prequel series, only to get mostly distracted in his romantic pursuit as the main reason over Dumbledore's assignment which coincidently aligns before interconnecting into one before the second-half. Meanwhile, Grindelwald, the antagonistic opposite, has actual plot development over the film's course.

J.K. Rowling's writing remains visionary as ever with reminiscing magic and fresh additional depth that expands and embraces across her single-handedly written Wizarding World with a sense of cultural representation, as well diversity. While her writing is at a steady pace in continuation in between the first and third chapter, it's the actual flawed direction from the unbalanced focus like director David Yates, who have directed since "Order of the Phoenix", felt the need to give the main plotline focus to the main protagonist. However, he managed to actually make this chapter exhilarating by putting in surprising thrills and radiance, as well tonal familiarity throughout the narrative, reflecting the magic from wondrous displays of the visually-created beasts and thrills to James Newton Howard's amped up score to the particularity of the production designs, namely the return to Hogwarts that will delight fans with nostalgia.

Receiving a bigger spotlight for more developmental exposure, Johnny Depp shines as the titular antagonist, proving that his controversial casting wasn't a problem while adding another prolific character in his eccentric range of acting. His actual opposite is Jude Law as the young Dumbledore who also performed perfectly but seemingly more like a young Michael Gambon than Richard Harris. As Newt's story gets dragged into the distant though inevitable bout between the two powerful wizards, Redmayne returned with his frequently experienced peculiarity, but not enough to claim the main spotlight like before.

"Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald" brought the prequel series much closer to the Harry Potter portion of the wizarding history rather than a standalone that the starter proposed an impression of; and that is okay considering the understanding of this chapter's positional flow of Rowling's in-progress "book". Overall aside from the unbalanced focus with the directed exhilaration, fine performances and flawless writing, the entertainment value is moderately spellbinding. (B+)
Page 1 of 111