Overlord - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Overlord Reviews

Page 1 of 9
November 14, 2018
This was a good movie with a good and interesting premise. I would have maybe liked to have seen a few more zombies let loose and have some zombie fun, but overall this revisionist take on WW2 was a fun movie.
November 14, 2018
Wow, the action/violence/horror in this movie is pretty intense... not for the squeemish. The opening air drop sequence alone is worth admission, it is absolutely mind blowing. It has a nice build up of "something under the surface aint right" dark vibe from the moment they land through the finale. It's also a very tight story that centers on some very simple themes, one very singular mission, and all hell breaking loose as they journey along it. If you like Horror go see this movie.
November 14, 2018
Best Action Packed Horror Zombie Nazi Wolfenstein Dream Suprise Movie Ever!!!! Awesome visual effects mixed with practical, awesome sound design!!!
November 14, 2018
This is one of the 5 to 10 best movies I have seen in a decade. It could stand alone as a great WWII movies, or a good gory horror movie. It is awesome what JJ Abrahams has done and I like the choice of Bokeem Woodbine (he is always awesome) and Wyatt Russell was the glue of the cast. I would have never seen this movie off of previews if I hadn't seen and heard such positive reviews. Spot on.
½ November 14, 2018
If a step by step cliche "horror" film is your thing, then treat yourself to Overlord. Enough violence and gore saves the film from the pit of bad films, with horrifically bad characterization, and a forgettable plot. Overlord falls flat
November 14, 2018
Wow what an awesome movie. If you like watching war movies, zombies, nazis, and edge of your seat suspense you need to watch this movie.
November 14, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It had great production value and wit was extremely well acted. The cast was great without too many familiar faces which I appreciated. The plot was a juxtaposition of WW2 Nazi domination with an injection of horror elements making this an astounding accomplishment.
November 14, 2018
I wanted to go see a movie and I had just heard that there were theaters at Mall of America again. I decided to try CMX Theatres at Mall of America and I chose this film. I have a soft spot for zombie films, even though I pretty much expected an incredibly bad though hopefully gory little movie. My expectations couldn't have been more wrong. What a very good, possibly great, film (though, admittedly, the luxuriousness of CMX Theatres at Mall of America may have added a bit)! I personally have never heard of any of the actors in the film (though I have, of course, heard of producer J.J. Abrams); but I definitely believe that everyone will be hearing from these young actors for a long, long time to come! Unlike many "zombie" films, the storyline seemed pretty believable ... though I'm not sure I would have referred to it as "a zombie film." All of the American and French characters were quite likable to lovable, and the Nazi characters were all rather unlikable to downright nasty. As in all horror films, likable characters are killed along the way, and when one notable "lovable" character was killed, I actually felt rather sad and teared up a bit. It has much more emotional depth than I would have thought possible in a zombie film. Though I've never heard of any of the actors, I'm guessing they all have a lot of experience under their collective belts. I think I will go see it again. Two thumbs up for the acting, storyline, and production!! I'm off now to research these talented young actors to see what other films and/or television programs they've been in. Go see it in a theater while you can!
November 14, 2018
Absolutely stunning film! The effects, tension and action is fantastic! Zombies and war = WINNER.
November 14, 2018
i saw this high and i thought it was the greatest thriller war action packed movie of the year this far. 5/5.
November 13, 2018
If you are a fan of video games like Wolfenstein and Call of Duty, this is great movie. Also if you liked the movie Inglorious Bastards, chances are you will really like this movie because it has those kind of vibes and plenty of 'Nat-sies'. I definitely recommend seeing it on the big screen.

P.S. If anyone has moderate to severe PTSD from being in combat, there are several triggers.
November 13, 2018
Nothing overly complex in the plot of this stylish WWII sci-fi/action/suspense flick while still providing enough high quality entertainment for fans of the gory thriller genre.
*AMC A-List #36
November 13, 2018
I wanted to go see a movie and I had just heard that there were theaters at Mall of America again. I decided to try CMX Theatres at Mall of America and I chose this film. I have a soft spot for zombie films, even though I pretty much expected an incredibly bad though hopefully gory little movie. My expectations couldn't have been more wrong. What a very good, possibly great, film (though, admittedly, the luxuriousness of CMX Theatres at Mall of America may have added a bit)! I personally have never heard of any of the actors in the film (though I have, of course, heard of producer J.J. Abrams); but I definitely believe that everyone will be hearing from these young actors for a long, long time to come! Unlike many "zombie" films, the storyline seemed pretty believable ... though I'm not sure I would have referred to it as "a zombie film." All of the American and French characters were quite likable to lovable, and the Nazi characters were all rather unlikable to downright nasty. As in all horror films, likable characters are killed along the way, and when one notable "lovable" character was killed, I actually felt rather sad and teared up a bit. It has much more emotional depth than I would have thought possible in a zombie film. Though I've never heard of any of the actors, I'm guessing they all have a lot of experience under their collective belts. I think I will go see it again. Two thumbs up for the acting, storyline, and production!! I'm off now to research these talented young actors to see what other films and/or television programs they've been in. Go see it in a theater while you can!
½ November 13, 2018
2 themes that have been over done and have turned cliche'...zombie movies and evil nazi movies. Put them together, add lots of gore, and you hit B-movie gold.
November 13, 2018
Must see movie !! Worth the price as well !!! By far my fav.!!!
November 13, 2018
Great Boom Boom Gorey blood bath
November 13, 2018
Personalmente me parece que la película cuenta con un escenario muy creativo sobre la segunda guerra mundial, refleja muy bien el Día D y le añade suspenso, terror y ciencia ficción, aunque siempre he criticado las películas norteamericanas por ponerme al estereotipo nazi como el malo, cuando realmente lo que paso, fue que tenían otra política y otro pensamiento.
½ November 13, 2018
Overwhelmingly violent, but amusing. Very intense.
November 13, 2018
When I emerged from the cinema into the Norfolk the midnight rain outside, I left scratching my head over this movie. A group of guys just ahead of liked the movie. One proclaimed it to be the best movie he'd seen in ten. While I mist certainly didn't think Overlord was by any means a bad movie, I did have to wonder if that particular guy had just been released from a 10 year stretch at her majestys pleasure becasuse I still quite fathom now how he'd failed to see a better film than this in a whole bloomin decade.
At its core, Overlord is a movie swallowed in its own confusion. It's trouble is it doesn't know if it should a monster movie or a historical war film and finds its self leaning, I feel accidentally, more toward the latter with a last great stab at being the formers coming late in the day and feeling lackadaisical.
I find me if wishing Overlord had just stuck to being a tun of the mill ww2 flick because it was ok as that. I found myself rooting for the GI's and suitably invested in seeing the Nazi's all shot in the face as soon as possible until in the final third the movie all went a bit Wolfenstien ps4. Not that there is anything wrong with that but here it felt a little jarring.
Go see it for yourselves. Again, Overlord is not a bad movie. It just could be been better?
Page 1 of 9