Ralph Breaks the Internet Reviews

Page 1 of 46
January 20, 2019
Had never watched the first Ralph movie, but took my nephew and was pleasantly surprised how much I loved this movie and how it was very suitable for adults as well as kids.
January 20, 2019
Better than I was expecting with some lessons in there about staying safe on the internet. It was a bit of an advertising for major US online corporations though.
Super Reviewer
½ January 19, 2019
Gets right into the "Internet" part of Ralph Breaks the Internet real early in the piece, and scarcely plods along ever-after. I was surprised that I enjoyed the first Wreck-It Ralph movie, but I was expecting a step down in quality for this one, which I absolutely got. There's still some things to like, and even the core message is an important one we don't see much of, plus i'm sure this will work as a movie for kids, which to be fair is its target demographic, I'm just saying I don't think I'll ever come back to see Ralph break the Internet a second time around.
January 19, 2019
Ralph Breaks the Internet lacks the charm of the first film. Regardless of the films intentions, Ralph comes across mostly as creepy which really hurts the message the film tries to get across. I found it quite cringy to watch with the out of place references and cameo's.

The animation quality was there, however the film lacked any charm which turned a charming story about video game characters into a cringy mess of references.
½ January 18, 2019
Loved it. Cute to the nth degree.
January 18, 2019
"Colorful, Cameo filled. Rainbow flavor of fun"
It's nice and beautiful with the brilliant colorful animation. The story is very strong and the internet and product placement is seen more of a story-like way then a commercial advertising. Although this is not as high of a standard of the first, it still has likable humor including Disney poking fun at itself.
70%
½ January 18, 2019
f you still have a good childish fiber left in your body and if you were/are a friend of video games, assuming you already saw the 2012 "Wreck-It Ralph" and liked it, you will have a blast with this one as it is the same silly innocence that pervades the first movie, but augmented a notch or two. Beautiful visuals of what the inner makings of a video game machine, a router or the whole internet might be if each and every character would be for real. Even a search engine and those darn popups get a life of their own, and, surprisingly, one needs to keep an eye out for Stan Lee who even made it into the virtual world this time. All in all it's cute, infantile, but with a lot of charm for every adult who grew up playing anything starting with the first Space Invaders to rough and tough games of today. There is something for everybody to be taken aback into one's childhood, teenage years or actual internet times. Once the movie ends, don't rush out as the best and funniest scene is still to come after some of the titles have run through (in typical latest action movie fashion). 6 1/2 out of 10 points. Only the biggest grouch will leave the cinema without a grin on his/her face.
January 17, 2019
Disappointing. This is the first word to come to mind about Ralph Breaks the Internet. Besides the fact that Wreck it Ralph, a far superior film to its predecessor, did not need a sequel-- it felt more like Disney advertisements then anything else. It lacked depth and a unique story line with vivid emotions and essential impacts. The ending is cliche. Whats worse is the critics positives ratings. How is this movie great? Of course the art is spectacular, yet that is not the point. These all feel like different characters from the first film, the jokes hardly land if ever, and the plot dilemma feels 'choppy' at best. Why did they choose a different director for the sequel? They should have kept the same one. This movie is beyond cash grab material, its Disney reusing ideas in the mere fact that the audience will blindly return to the cinema. Again, disappointing. Disney, come up with more original ideas instead of butchering dear ones.
½ January 17, 2019
As much as I loved this movie, the cast, and the humor, it doesn't feel like a movie to me until the emotional toll hits, and it hits hard. I applaud this movie for teaching a lesson that you definitely do not see out there everyday. That true friendship and love is letting people be free to do what they want to do, and the most you can do is support them every step of the way even if it means you miss out. The core relationship is elevated further than the last movie and ends on a note I would not have expected. The animation is just beautiful and they took what could've been a stupid plot for a movie and fleshed it out into a very much enjoyable adventure ride.
January 17, 2019
I mean it tried... the movie had pacing issues, no real villain, excessive advertisements, and jokes that only hit about 40% of the time.
January 17, 2019
Six years after the first ´┐ 1/2 1/2Wreck-It Ralph´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? surprised audiences with its heart and humor, Disney attempts to break their notorious bad sequel curse with ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?. While I honestly cannot say that it is better than the original, ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the ´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? surpassed all of my expectations and cemented itself as a well thought-out and formidable continuation to a modern animated classic.

Revisiting the same cast of colorful characters featured in the first film, ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? follows Ralph and his pint-sized best friend Vanellope as they journey across the internet in search of a replacement part for Vanellope´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s racing game ´┐ 1/2 1/2~Sugar Rush´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM). Though I was initially wary of the seemingly gimmicky premise of a movie taking place in the internet ( I will never truly recover from the traumatic experience that was ´┐ 1/2 1/2The Emoji Movie´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?), ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? approaches the web from a very clever and interesting angle.

Though it is difficult to give concrete examples of how the movie handles internet slang and concepts without delving into spoiler territory, the way in which the concepts are handled not only feels fresh and innovative but also purposeful from a narrative standpoint. Instead of just being referential jokes and throwaway one-liners, the internet-specific details serve as plot points, which means that the setting feels less like a shtick and more of a necessary way to move the plot along.

The plot, however, is not the highlight of this film. Although it is clever, the real meat of ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? is in its character relationships and emotional narrative. Instead of using characters for the sole purpose of comedy, the movie transforms Ralph and Vanellope´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s odd-couple dynamic into the central core of the film. For a movie aimed at children, I was surprised at how grown-up it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s emotional message was. While ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? is certainly aimed towards kids, I think that viewers of any age will be able to appreciate the lesson that Ralph and Vanellope learn.

However, when the movie is not spending time developing an emotional backbone or focusing on its clever premise, it tends to suffer. I found the scenes with Gal Gadot´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s ´┐ 1/2 1/2Shank´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? to be a general low point in the film. For a character all about speed, she sure did slow down the film´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s momentum. One of the many great things about the original ´┐ 1/2 1/2Wreck-It Ralph´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? was the colorful and interesting characters, and perhaps the greatest flaw of ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? is that the writers feel the need to add more, less interesting characters instead of using the great ones it already has. For example, instead of spending time with Fix-It Felix or Sergeant Calhoun, we got an entire plot line surrounding the character ´┐ 1/2 1/2Yesss´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?, who was not nearly as gratifying as her name implies. The scene where Vanellope enters the ´┐ 1/2 1/2Oh My Disney´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? website will also be divisive with viewers. While I found it for the most part entertaining and clever, it does feel a little forced in the grand scheme of things, and it does not do much for the movie in terms of plot. However, for eagle-eyed viewers or Disney fanatics, it is a veritable ´┐ 1/2 1/2Where´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s Waldo´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? of easter eggs and Disney references.

With the exception of the new, weaker characters, Ralph Breaks the Internet managed to avoid falling victim to many of the typical sequel problems. With an engaging, unique premise and a script chock full of clever humor, it is definitely a sequel worthy of the original.
½ January 17, 2019
Honest, modern and funny like the previous chapter: exactly what I expected but nothing more.
½ January 17, 2019
Ralph breaks the internet is the sequel to wreck it Ralph.really good animation from the game characters to the online people. Good voice acting especially from John C. Reilly as Wreck it Ralph. Okay story with some cool and inventive ideas. Some that work and some that dont. Good characters like Ralph Knowsmore, but there are also some okay characters like Yesss. Half the jokes were very good and clever, but the other half of the jokes were ether toilet humour or just didnt work. The film also felt clunky and felt like it was 2 movies in one. In my opinion the first movie is better but that doesnt mean this is a bad movie not by any means its just not a great movie. Over all I give it a 5/10
January 16, 2019
Derivative trash with an objectionable direction. Some of the ways the internet is potrayed was clever but overall very bland. Let characters were forsaken for underveloped new ones and the overall theme of the movie is a wreck. Pun intended.
January 16, 2019
"Ralph Breaks the Internet" is a wonder! It captured the internet lifestyle completely, it showed all corners of the internet and its dangers. It never really shied away from anything. It has some beautiful things to say about relationships and it disguised them perfectly into this colourful adventure through the internet. The Vanellope-Ralph relationship is a wonder to watch, we rarely get to watch such a friendship between a guy and a girl character. "Ralph Breaks the Internet" is actually pretty entertaining and fun! Lets just put this out there as well, the Disney Princesses should have their own brand asap! I mean give them TV shows, movies, give them the whole deal! Their scenes were a wonder!
January 15, 2019
After the brilliance that was the original, like so many sequels, this is a huge let-down.
January 15, 2019
For me, the charm of the original was lost. This kinda gave me a headache to watch. Who is the antagonist? Old boy's insecurity? Ugh...... gtfo please.
½ January 15, 2019
The first half of the movie was funny and pretty fun. After they meet the princesses, however, it starts becoming a predictable, unfunny mess. They should've focused more on trying to make a good film instead of trying to push a political agenda into a kids movie.
½ January 15, 2019
Disney's 57th Animated Feature in which Ralph and Vanellope discover a wi-fi router in their arcade, which leads them to the world of the Internet in an attempt to save her game. A worthy sequel full of easter eggs and references so cleverly introduced that it is a pleasure to watch, including the representation of important Internet companies and Disney's most famous characters and features. It is a hard work of animation that pays off with an emotional message about the strength of friendship and the accomplishment of dreams. Good luck at the awards' season, even though Sony seems to be superior this time.
½ January 15, 2019
Ralph Breaks The Internet is a worthy successor, that keeps building on the relationships of the first movie with many hilarious, emotional and honest moments. It also features a large amount of pop-culture references that will appeal to both children and adults.
Page 1 of 46