Smallfoot Reviews

Page 1 of 6
September 30, 2018
...when set next to other animated movies of late, Smallfoot comes across feeling, well, small.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 7, 2018
Adults can still enjoy this in an ironic way. Smallfoot is so unbelievable at times that I couldn't help but feel baffled and perplexed by the creative decisions on display, laughing and shaking my head as it ventured into some strange directions.
October 14, 2018
Sadly, overly-stuffed "Smallfoot" invents modern fairy tale notions about Yeti's, with mediocre animation, and songs without actually teaching anything of substance to kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 15, 2018
The best parts of the movie come in scenes where the characters act unpredictably. Unfortunately, Smallfoot wants to play everything so safe that it just comes off as dull.
September 20, 2018
Smallfoot really flounders with its obligatory message-mongering.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 27, 2018
Hollywood animation, your rut is showing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 25, 2018
It might be hyperbolic to call Smallfoot the most dangerous film of the year, but it wouldn't necessarily be wrong.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 28, 2018
While animation can be a good tool to help kids - and adults - explore such topics, "Smallfoot" still seems a bit too heavy-handed for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 27, 2018
An animated blunder that take what could have very easily been another Storks-style win for Warner Animation Group, and turns it into a disposable kid's movie that goes through the motions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2018
A middling bit of animation, Smallfoot is built for small children to love and parents to endure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 27, 2018
Has a slick, anonymous style that seems designed to smooth out anything potentially distinctive or memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 19, 2018
Heady ideas for a mainstream cartoon, but unfortunately Smallfoot can't bear the weight of its big notions, saddled as it is with fairly mediocre animation, mostly forgettable songs and a resolutely by-the-numbers screenplay.
September 26, 2018
A laborious film that's too caught up in exposition to have much fun with itself, with an uneven balance of mischief and metaphor.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 26, 2018
If only the dialogue and visuals matched the daring of its ideology.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 28, 2018
While the character animation is uninspired (why do these yeti have no noses?), Kirkpatrick pays homage to the physical comedy of Wile E. Coyote, uses video gaming for visual gags and gets inventive with interspecies misinterpretations.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 28, 2018
As much as I would like to applaud a movie for challenging kids not to take what adults say to them at face value, Smallfoot just left me cold.
Full Review | Original Score: 74/100
September 25, 2018
Bland... something of a thinker, even a subversive one, but it's dubious that kids will pick up on the provocation between the pratfalls and the pop songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 28, 2018
Let's just say I was glad my 9-year-old wasn't able to attend the movie with me and my 4-year-old was so bored by the heavy-handed messaging that she spent most of the movie whining for more candy.
September 28, 2018
This is a blandly forgettable affair only the youngest members of the audience are likely to find captivating.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 19, 2018
If "Smallfoot" proves anything, it's not the existence of yetis, but the need for a fresh approach to such lazy storytelling.
Page 1 of 6