Smallfoot Reviews

Page 1 of 11
½ December 16, 2018
Extremely anti-religious.
½ December 16, 2018
Ok. Poor songs that seem to be mixed away to high compared to the dialogue. Some of the singing is undecipherable.
Super Reviewer
½ December 15, 2018
An animation for children primarily - with a surprise message (!) inside about peace, love and understanding. It's generically typical except for a song by Common mid-piece that reaches beyond the genre's limitations and the story itself. That sequence alone is worth the rest of the picture.
December 14, 2018
Great movie with a great story line! I love easy to watch movies like this. Make for a great Friday night!
December 14, 2018
I love the animation. However, the movie Had NO REAL STORY. Like how the heck we know that the leader daughter mia or something. Her dad never believed in her like know it knows. AND COME ON WITH ALL THE SINGING!
½ December 14, 2018
The animation and art designs for the snow in the music. All of the songs are great. Though, majority of the names of characters are forgetable.
December 13, 2018
it was an exceptional I loved it was really funny and the music was phenomenal
½ December 11, 2018
Just another kids film.
December 10, 2018
Nothing new or great to see here.
December 10, 2018
Better than I thought it would be. Has a couple funny parts and the storyline is decent. If you like the trailer, check it out.
Super Reviewer
½ December 10, 2018
Due purely to track record it's difficult to be excited for any animated movie not produced by Disney and/or Pixar and so, while there weren't exactly high expectations going into Smallfoot it more than surpassed how average I surmised it might be. The characters are charming (as is the famous voice cast, though I can't help but feel anyone could have voiced these characters whether a big name or not except for maybe Common), the animation is up to par with the new norm which is to say it's pretty fantastic, and much to my surprise there were a few genuinely catchy if not exactly memorable musical numbers thrown in for good measure.

Like Warner Animation's infinitely re-watchable 2016 film, Storks, this will surely go underappreciated despite being an equally clever and creative little tale about questioning those things that define our behavior and our society despite having little to do with our present reality. Yeah, the easy target here is religion and the Bible given the story revolves around the validity of ancient texts, but the film isn't so much about challenging a system for the sake of stirring up trouble (Tatum's lead character, Migo, is genuinely conflicted about questioning anything in his comfortable existence), but more Smallfoot explores how the only way to constantly be improving upon our world and existence is to accept change and face reality rather than steering clear of a truth simply because it contradicts the firm beliefs of the hierarchy.
½ December 9, 2018
We were really looking forward to this film since the trailer portrays it as a clever and hilarious take on the myth of Bigfoot. However, it was a sad surprise on watching it to see that both trailers excluded any reference to the main storyline which is a heavy-handed attack on the ten commandments/religion in general.
December 8, 2018
The jokes were average, maybe laughed 2 or 3 times in total [as a 20-something adult], but the story was strong. The twist was better than I expected. I wouldn't pay to see it in theaters, but it's worth a watch when you can stream it. Definitely perfect for kids, and a good way to start a conversation about the us vs them mentality we keep seeing in society
½ December 7, 2018
Really fun movie. Knocked it down a little since some of the songs were pretty weak.
December 6, 2018
Wonderful filming/animation and rich story-line: anyone of any age can appreciate. I can't recommend this film enough.
December 6, 2018
Smallfoot starts with a lot of promise. The animation is beautiful, the characters seem likeable, the story sets up some interesting twists and it got a few big laughs out of me. Unfortunately, either through losing their nerve or sheer laziness, the filmmakers start falling back on trite plot beats and predictable story progression. James Corden is an actor and personality I personally find completely insufferable, and this film demonstrates exactly why. He's never able to play anyone other than himself, either in live action or animation, and as such I find his character as annoying the man himself. In the beginning I thought it was going to have a message about using critical thinking and not blindly following tradition, but it's soon reduced to the being the millionth movie to say 'Just because you look different, doesn't mean you should be excluded.' It gets progressively more tired and boring as it goes on, and it throws in the obligatory toilet humour early on, almost like its warning us about how bad things will get. If the entire film had been as enjoyable as the first 20 odd minutes, I would have loved it. But it's tendency to resort to easy jokes and hackneyed storytelling renders it as a huge missed opportunity.
December 4, 2018
I liked some of the songs but overall it wasn't as funny or cute as intended. It was quite childish actually. I enjoyed Percy's accent and the moral was solid.
December 2, 2018
okay to see if you have a child going.
½ December 2, 2018
The worst and boring movie ever.
½ December 1, 2018
Smallfoot is a great movie with a well-crafted story,beautiful animation, lovable characters and a great soundtrack. 9/10
Page 1 of 11