The Grinch Reviews

Page 1 of 26
½ December 18, 2018
I liked it but not much I thought the film was focused on several things and tried to bring something more that in my opinion was not very good but I still liked the movie well, sort of
½ December 18, 2018
Perhaps not the best movie ever made, but I actually wanted to see this over other movies. I truly enjoyed it because I can relate to the Grinch on a lot of levels. I liked the humor and the sweet moments. I will go see it again and buy it when it is released. Wonderful.
December 18, 2018
Soft and forgettable - for the little kids to enjoy while parents turn their brains off to. A Christmas-themed money grab with nothing notable under the surface.
½ December 18, 2018
The movie that I be reviewing is The Grinch.Some things that I liked about the movie is how it's rated PG for and that means you can watch the movie with your family. I also like how it got me into the christmas joy and if you're not the movie will but if you already are it will make you more in a christmas mood.Some things that I don't like about the movie is that they change the plot a little bit.Another thing I did not like about the movie is the graphics because I'm a person that does not like animated movies.But other than that the movie is good.The actor that play┬┤sthe Grinch is Benedict Cumberbatch.Benedict did a great job acting as the Grinch.
½ December 18, 2018
A giant leap up from that horrible live action Grinch but still falls a little flat. Some jokes land but most do not. I think the performances by Kenan Thompson as Mr. Bricklebaum and Cameron Seely as Cindy-Lou Who were great but no one else really stood out to me. I did not love the narration by Pharrell Williams. I do not think it was Pharrells fault though; he had a big hat to fill from the original narrator. I appreciate that they attempted to make the music their own but that also fell flat from the original score. Long story short, I think the animation was great and the Grinchs relationship with his dog and reindeer were great but I think this just did not live up to the original with the score and narration.
December 17, 2018
Boring. No sparkle, just a yawn. Super friendly Grinch. How did that happen?
½ December 17, 2018
I had high expectations for this one. The animation was fantastic but the movie is passive and sluggish. This telling of the story left me unattached and ready to leave a quarter of the way in. It may even leave the kiddos bored and ready to move on to the next big thing.
December 17, 2018
Illumination loves to outdo themselves, because this next installment in the ever increasing amount of failing Dr. Suess movies will have him rolling in his grave.
Original Score: 3/10
½ December 17, 2018
Horrible, dont pay to see this.
December 17, 2018
The animated movie that should have dived, instead grew to be so large, nobody would ever forget it. The Grinch is a classic!
½ December 17, 2018
The grinch wasn't evil enough
½ December 17, 2018
Great animation, same story, OK humor. A good effort, but not quite up to par.
December 17, 2018
Definitely the weakest of the Illumination releases. Simplistic plot may be OK for kids but leaves little of interest for adults accompanying them.
½ December 17, 2018
The Grinch was the only good thing about the movie, every other character was uninteresting and boring to watch
December 17, 2018
BC impressed as always with his vocal talents. Outside of this the rest of the movie was drab and boring, even my 3 year old was asking to go before the Grinch had even fully befriended his new yak friend...
½ December 17, 2018
Can we please stop massacring this classic? There is NOTHING WRONG with the original TV special.
½ December 17, 2018
"You're a SAD one, Mr. Grinch"

I went into this new adaptation with low expectations, and while I enjoyed the film much more than I thought I would it really didn't do much to make it memorable.

I've never been so torn about a movie. It hit all the right beats that it needed to, but the things it tried to do different were done in the wrong ways. I hate comparing it to Jim Carrey's portrayal, but there is reason to.

Carrey's Grinch needed to expand on the world and character to fill the longer film time, and the expansions (his bullied childhood, his love of garbage, his tinkering) all added to the character in great ways.

The issue with Cumberbatch's Grinch (who is an excellent casting, I will add) is that they tried to make his motivation sadness rather than grouchiness. Being bullied is a great reason to hate the Whos and the season, being neglected (odd for the Who community) isn't.

This Grinch also rarely does anything MEAN. The whole grocery trip was fun, but that was as mean as he gets. There's even a scene where him and Max have an argument and the Grinch is the one who apologizes!

It's fine to have loneliness as a factor, but it shouldn't be who the Grinch is...

Still, it was largely uninteresting as far as adding to the character but it wasn't a bad film. Just a forgettable one =/ Honestly I would've loved a new story with the Grinch from this studio, or better yet a new Cat in the Hat! (though I do love Myers' Cat haha) OR BETTER YET a Grinch Grinches the Cat in the Hat movie!

The only thing to make this Grinch movie worthwhile is hopefully there will be a short on the dvd about the minions imprinting on the Grinch lol
Nate Z.
Super Reviewer
December 16, 2018
The second go at a twenty-first century feature-length Grinch movie is a thoroughly, spectacularly bland movie. This mediocre enterprise barely stretches to feature length at 86 minutes and it lacks the charm of the original Dr. Seuss cartoon. Benedict Cumberbatch voices the green recluse with his three-sizes-too-small heart set on stealing the Christmas celebration of others. That's great casting, but why is he settling for his Doctor Strange-style American voice? The man has such a natural, rich, velvety voice. Another miscue is the fact that this Grinch isn't really feared by the people of Whoville. He lives just outside of ton and isn't really that mean. He's less a villain and more just a grumpy sad guy who has to over explain everything for the audience to understand ("I thought stealing Christmas would make me feel better, but really I was running from myself..."). This movie is brightly colored and nicely animated but it's strictly just for little kids. The lessons are pretty simplistic. The characters are mostly annoying, precocious, or mute. The humor is mostly slapstick. There is nothing to engage bigger thinkers. This Grinch movie actually made me start re-evaluating the 2000 Ron Howard version, which at least tried something and had an enjoyably hammy Jim Carrey performance with some creepy good makeup prosthetics, and I didn't even like that movie. The new animated Grinch film is inoffensively lackluster. At best it's a disposable 90 minutes to distract easily distractible children and give mom and dad time for a nap.

Nate's Grade: C
½ December 15, 2018
Illumination did a good job with this adaptation moving away from what the live action film presented, instead of making the grinch someone who wanted to see the who's suffer, this new grinch simply moves away as much as possible from them, Another thing that I like about the movie is the relationship between Cindy Lou and her mother, the film shows a closer relationship than in the 2000 version
½ December 15, 2018
Illumination continues their streak of hit and miss films with The Grinch, an update of the classic Dr. Seuss tale. I love the Chuck Jones version; it was simple, to the point and conveyed its message clearly, everything this version doesn't do. I was surprised to discover that Benedict Cumberbatch provides the voice of the green grump, since he affects a convincing American accent. The animation is also fantastic, with vivid winter colours, smooth movements and plenty of festive decorations. It's fun to watch and gets the odd laugh, but the decisions to make a Grinch film that's almost 90 minutes rather than the cartoons 25 creates all kinds of issues. For a start, it means the filmmakers have to fill in the extra time, and this means overextended scenes and a variety of subplots, which are occasionally entertaining but only serve to show why the excessive length is unnecessary. In the cartoon the Grinch is a solitary character who dislikes Christmas because he simply doesn't understand it. Here, he has a traumatic backstory which makes him hate Christmas because of personal tragedy. Because of this, rather than coming across as a curmudgeon who needs his heart warmed, he comes across as spiteful and bitter, something Dr. Seuss surely didn't intend. With the extra time the film could have explored questions like, what do the Grinch and the Who's do for the rest of the year. Grinch goes down the Whoville to buy food, so where does he get the money? I was glad that the childish humour was kept to a minimum, with no fart jokes in sight and no minion-esque side characters rearing their irritating heads. It's an enjoyable holiday romp which sadly falls short of the classic for many reasons, but I'd still recommend it to anyone who enjoys the tale nonetheless.
Page 1 of 26